happy, Jobs

Success is Relative

I have been traveling on business this past week and have not had much time to write. During my trip, though, I had some big realizations about what success is.

I was flown back to DC for work. This was exciting for me because it meant I got to see my friends while not at the office. I somehow didn’t really equate the trip to business at all. Then I started talking to an old friend from college about it and he said something like “you got swag”. I am paraphrasing, of course, but the point is that his reaction to my business trip as an outsider was so different to mine.

I now am coming to terms with the fact that I am pretty good at my job, and it allows me to live where I choose, which is great. Until the conversation this weekend, though, I had not considered that I am a success. To me, my job is just that: my job. And I do it to the best of my abilities, but it’s also not where I want to be forever. To outsiders, though, I am successful at what I do.

I believe I mentioned previously that I have a degree in Political Science and Journalism. Writing is where my passions lie. I obviously do some of it on the side for this blog, and have started to branch out to other sources as well. This week I got word that one of my posts was accepted for publication on the Huffington Post College blog. It can be found here: LOOK!

This news was more exciting to me than anything at my job has been in months. To me, this post meant that I was becoming successful. I obviously have a long way to go, but it stands out to me.

I think the “key to success” is also intertwined with happiness. I think I will feel successful when what I’m doing with my life makes me happy. This aspect of success is what many post grads struggle with.

I say that success is relative, because sometimes our passions don’t overlap with our day jobs. Being a success in technology would be great, but it would not be good enough for me because it’s not writing. I’m hoping that other Post Grads have similar sentiments. This past week was certainly a wake up call for me about where I should be funneling my energies more.

About Shikole

I just moved to Austin, TX after living in the DC metro area for 6 years. I love wine, writing, exploring and fun. When all of those things can happen simultaneously, I'm a happy camper.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

