How To..., Jobs

Contently Online Writing Portfolios

Long gone are the days of hauling manilla folders filled with newspaper clippings to job interviews. Most employers would much rather have relevant links or pdfs of your writing directly emailed to them. While it’s important that the selection of writing samples you send to employers relates directly to the position you’re applying for, I personally think it doesn’t hurt to send along a link to your online writing portfolio as well. Including a link to your portfolio gives employers the option to check out your full range of writing experience and doesn’t bombard them the same way that including multiple extra links in the email body might. Unfortunately, this means you actually need to HAVE a writing portfolio to add to the email.

Many writers organize their work on the web by creating a personal website, hiring a professional web designer, or using a pre-made template on blogging sites such as WordPress, Blogger, or Tumblr and purchasing a domain. While this is my ultimate goal as I progress further in my career, I found that the websites I was attempting to create for myself just didn’t have the streamlined look I desired and I really didn’t have room in my budget to hire a professional to bring my vision to life. So what’s a frugal young writer with less than stellar web design skills to do? All I was really searching for was a place where I could gather links to my writing around the web in one professional location.

After spending some time checking out countless portfolio sites that wanted to charge me for their services, I finally stumbled across my current favorite online writing portfolio site: Contently.

Contently is a free online writing portfolio site for that’s currently in Beta. You can sign up easily by visiting them at contently.com and requesting an invite. I received mine in my email the same day. Once you join and choose a URL (this will be yourusername.contently.com), you can start adding writing clips by simply typing in the websites you’ve been published on. After finding your writing clips, you can add descriptions and upload them to your portfolio.

What I love most about Contently is that it allows me to easily rearrange my clips and choose which pieces I’d like to see featured first on my portfolio page. I can group clips together into categories and even upload pdf copies of stories that were featured in print publications. I think this feature is beneficial for post grads on the job hunt because it allows future employers to check out only the parts of your portfolio that they’re actually interested in. The portfolio page itself is professional, minimalistic, and easy to navigate, which is another bonus if you’re planning to share your portfolio with potential employers.

Contently also gives members the option to connects with freelance publishers if you’re interested in pursuing freelance work. I haven’t had the chance to explore this portion of the site yet, but definitely will once I’m settled in Austin.

Contently is everything I wanted and more when it comes to a writing portfolio on the web. If your interested in seeing what a completed portfolio looks like, you can check out mine at allisonsass.contently.com. Contently is free to join, so I hope that some of our fellow post grad bloggers will take advantage of this excellent way to organize your work!

About Allison

I'm a recent grad living and working in Austin, TX. I work full-time as an Online Content Manager by day and am a blogger/ part-time piano teacher by night. I love music, spending time outdoors, and exploring new places.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Contently Online Writing Portfolios

  1. Thanks for sharing – this is really neat, and a great idea!

    Posted by Erin McNaughton | June 21, 2012, 2:48 pm
  2. Contently’s director of community here. Thanks for the love, Allison!

    Posted by ericaswallow | June 21, 2012, 3:38 pm
  3. Oh, by the way, we are launching a portfolio redesign soon, so stay tuned for an even better portfolio experience!

    Posted by ericaswallow | June 21, 2012, 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

