Food, Recipes

Beer Mac and Cheese

As most of you have seen on Twitter, I made Beer Mac and Cheese this week! And I’d like to begin by telling you it was amazing in every way. I also can’t take all the credit for this. I found the original recipe here. Unfortunately I didn’t have all the ingredients it listed so I made some substitutions.

Ingredients: 

half a pound elbow macaroni

4 cups of shredded cheese. I used gouda and cheddar.

2 beers. One and a half to cook the pasta in, half a beer for the sauce. I used Sunset wheat and Sam Adams Old Fezziwig Ale.

Half a cup of milk 

3 Tbs butter

3 Tbs flour

1/2 pound ground turkey

Worshtecher sauce (to cook the turkey in, and some to add to the sauce)

To Cook:

Bring water and 1.5 beers to a boil to cook the macaroni in. While the water is heating up, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and cook the ground turkey. The turkey should be done first. Set it aside for now.

In a baking dish on the stove top, melt the butter. Once it is melted add the flour and stir well. Add the milk next. Make sure there are no clumps.

Add the beer to the liquid mix and stir.

Add all of the cheese and stir until it’s melted. Add worshtesher sauce to taste.

By this time the pasta should be done. You should leave it al dente as it will also be baked. Mix the pasta and ground turkey into the sauce until coated. Bake for 30 minutes.

Finished product: 

Amazing! So cheesy and delicious. I must say this is one of the best things I have ever made. Hope you all like it too!

About Shikole

I just moved to Austin, TX after living in the DC metro area for 6 years. I love wine, writing, exploring and fun. When all of those things can happen simultaneously, I'm a happy camper.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.