Guests, Health and Fitness

Tips for A Healthy Working Post Grad

I don’t know about you but when I was in college my routine looked a little something like this: class, eat, class, sleep, eat, homework, go out/hang out with friends. And of course my eating looked a little something like this: pizza, pasta, fast food and anything I could make in 5 minutes. I would work out on occasion but I considered walking to class a good source of cardio. But after all it was college right? It’s the only time in your life that you can do all of that and kind of get away with it.

And then reality hit. Graduation.

When I started working my diet of pizza, pasta, and fast food also consisted of going out to lunch and the never ending supply of cakes and sweets that seemed to always appear every morning. On top of that I was sitting at a desk. ALL DAY. So guess what happened? Yup I packed on some extra pounds. I felt like I was a freshman all over again.

I realized I wasn’t in college anymore and that kind of lifestyle just wasn’t going to cut it. So I decided to make a change. When I moved out I reworked my eating and working out habits. Here are some helpful hints I have learned along the way to maintain a healthy lifestyle while working an 8 to 5 job.

Tips for a Healthy Working Post Grad

Use What Resources You Have – I know nowadays a lot of companies have a gym at the office. USE IT! It’s really convenient to squeeze in some time during lunch. I usually hit up the gym right after work. If I get all the way home I will think of a trillion reasons not to work out. But if all I have to do is go downstairs I’m more motivated to go.

Pack Your Lunch – Don’t get caught in the trap of eating lunch out every day. Once in a while is ok but you will be more tempted to hit up fast food or get that extra dessert if you are out.

Avoid the Cafeteria – Similiar to packing your lunch, avoid the cafeteria! Even though a lot of cafeterias are now offering healthier options, I know that if a giant pink cupcake from Lovin’ Oven Cakery is staring at me in the face, it will be hard to say no. And you read that right it’s a cakery and its amazing.

Bring Your Own Snacks – Make sure you bring enough snacks throughout the day. This will help you to avoid snacking on all the office munchies. Knowing you have something to eat at your desk will make it easier to just say no. This will also help you to avoid the cafeteria.

Have a Game Plan – Try and plan out your meals and your workouts the night before. If you go in the day with a plan you are more likely to stick to it.

Gum – Now people have mixed reviews about gum. But I know that if I am working at my desk by myself I am much more inclined to want to munch on something even if I’m not hungry. Chewing some gum will simulate that motion without adding the calories.

I hope that these tips and tricks help you survive the “corporate” 15. Does anyone else have tips for healthy eating at work?

To get you started I have this great circuit workout:

Increasing Circuit Workout

There are just some days I am not feeling the gym. Today just so happened to be one of those days. Therefore, I created a great circuit workout similar to my last circuit workout to make the time fly and keep me from feeling bored.

It definitely kicked my butt! The intervals of cardio and weights got my heart racing. I had every intention of completing this circuit twice but I ended up completing it once, did 10 minutes on the treadmill and then lots of stretching.

Hopefully this will get you started on your healthy working life!

About chocolatedropsandpearls

I am a 22 year old independent women making my way through life with the help of chocolate, fitnes, and fashion!

Discussion

One thought on “Tips for A Healthy Working Post Grad

  1. LOVE the circuit! Great for when you’re feeling unmotivated or want to change up your routine.

    Posted by PostCollegiate | May 1, 2012, 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

