Entertainment, Movies and TV

Hunger Games Review

I have to do it. The Hunger Games Movie was almost all I could think about on the 16 hour journey home from Iceland. Well, that and how much longer it was going to take to get to my bed. I had been looking forward to this movie since I read all 3 books in less than a week last April. I was obsessed for a long time and pushed every friend I had to also read the books.

Then the movie came out the one weekend I was out of the country and almost everyone had already seen it by the time I returned. Don’t worry, I found a movie companion finally and now I’m ready to discuss!

I’d like to begin by saying that the movie obviously did not get even close to how good the book was. It would have been better if they had split the book into two movie, the first one ending with Katniss and Cinna saying goodbye as she went up the tube, and the second one starting just as she gets to the top. Splitting it up would’ve allowed for the much needed character and plot development that was glossed over.

Casting:

Jennifer Lawrence was a perfect Katniss. She was tough, she was hesitant about anything love-related, she was fit and she was just the right amount of awkward when in the spotlight.

Peeta was described as stocky in the books. Josh Hutcherson, while attractive, was not as stocky as I had pictured Peeta being. He played the part very well for the most part, but I would have loved to have seen an actor that was a brick house.

Gale was too pretty. He should have been more rugged. Same actor probably would have been fine, but some scruff would round it out more.

I have no real comments on the rest of the cast.

One of the major issues I had with the movie was the lack of Azox. There were none in the entire film. They were cut from the first scene with the helicopter, we didn’t see any serving food, they were just deleted. I am sure the producers did this to save time in the film. They didn’t have the time to develop the main characters, how could they add another whole dimension? Without them, though, the audience doesn’t fully understand the fear everyone has in the Capitol.

Those are my only real critiques of the movie. Other than I can’t wait to see how they do the 2nd one. Happy Hunger Games, and my the odds be ever in your favor!

About Shikole

I just moved to Austin, TX after living in the DC metro area for 6 years. I love wine, writing, exploring and fun. When all of those things can happen simultaneously, I'm a happy camper.

Discussion

One thought on “Hunger Games Review

  1. The cave scene was also majorly cut. They are in the cave for a long, long time in the book and it didn’t seem as soul-crushing/starving/freezing as it really was. Much of her commentary in the book was inner monologue (ie. looking for water or trying to figure out if Peeta is out to get her or protecting her) and as a result the more emotional parts of the book are left out of the movie. I agree on the two part movie, but have also discussed that this might have been done in a mini-series format as well.

    Posted by Alison G | April 9, 2012, 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

