happy birthday, Life

Happy Birthday to Me!

Guys! Today is my birthday! I’m officially 24 now. It got me thinking about age, and goals, and why so many people seem to freak out as the years go by.

I personally love my birthday. There is a possibility that it is because I love attention and my birthday is the only holiday that is all about me! I was lucky last year. My birthday fell on Mardi Gras, so that holiday became all about me as well.

I also love being numerically farther from the time in life when we were considered naive and foolish. There is just as much a stigma to be 22 as there is to hit 30. Young 20 Somethings are often given the “Oh Honey” treatment. (I hope you all have seen that episode of How I Met Your Mother and get the reference. It was the Katy Perry episode. Preview here. ) We are right out of college and still starry eyed. Our dreams are still a possibility in our alcohol drenched brains. And everyone who is just a year older, knows that very soon all of that will likely come crashing down around us.

I feel like 24 is the perfect number in 20 Something world. It’s almost like we are real grown ups now. (I said almost, give me a break.) I feel like every year older I get the less people underestimate my abilities in the real world. Being underestimated is a huge pet peeve of mine. If falls somewhere between bad drivers and people speaking slowly. Somehow, in my head, getting older will help ease the frequency I am underestimated.

So as of today I am a content 24 year old. And I will be celebrating with wine and friends, exactly how a 20 Something Post Grad should. Cheers!

About Shikole

I just moved to Austin, TX after living in the DC metro area for 6 years. I love wine, writing, exploring and fun. When all of those things can happen simultaneously, I'm a happy camper.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. That’s such a good point about having people trust your ability to do a job well, as you get older. Happy birthday, Shikole, and I hope you have a wonderful time celebrating!

    Posted by Erin McNaughton | March 8, 2012, 2:50 pm
  2. Happy Birthday! Hope you had a great day!

    Lauren
    http://www.laurensthoughts.com

    Posted by lrstewart | March 9, 2012, 1:47 pm

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

