Iceland, Travel

Reykjavic Here I Come!

There are mere weeks left until I depart on my annual tax-refund-enabled vacation to Iceland! The flight is booked, the hostel secured and a real winter jacket purchased. I am getting more excited by the day as it sinks in that the trip is actually happening.

There are so many reasons I am excited for this trip. Including but limited to:

  • I’M GOING TO ICELAND
  • I have a whole week off of work
  • I am going on this adventure with two of my favorite friends
  • I get to to explore a brand new place
  • We are going to meet people who are completely different than the uptight workaholics that live in DC
  • Blue Lagoon
  • I actually am looking forward to the flight so I can drink and read without interruption.
  • I get an entire week off of work
  • 85% of people who live in Iceland believe in elves. This either means that a) there are elves or b) they are on some kind of psychedelic drug that makes them see elves.
  • Puffins!

I still need to buy gloves before this trip. I don’t think a glacier hike will be as fun with frost bite on my fingers. With all that is going on at work and with my car, this trip and the planning involved is the perfect escape.

I usually have a rule to have no expectations about anything. It manages any potential disappointment in case anything falls through. However, for this trip, my expectations are pretty high. Even if something happens to not go perfectly, I believe it will still be one of the best weeks of my life.

About Shikole

I just moved to Austin, TX after living in the DC metro area for 6 years. I love wine, writing, exploring and fun. When all of those things can happen simultaneously, I'm a happy camper.

Discussion

One thought on “Reykjavic Here I Come!

  1. I like how you’re excited about the elves because you think that there’s a special drug in Iceland, and I’m excited because I think we’re traveling to a magical land where elves actually exist. We are both crazy.

    Posted by Rachel | March 5, 2012, 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

