How To..., Jobs

Cars, Cars, Cars

By Allison Sass

Anyone who has driven with me knows that my cute red Dodge Neon is nicknamed “the devil car”. Throughout my time with the vehicle I have been towed about five times, and been to the mechanic more times than I can count for everything under the sun, while never actually being in an accident (knock on wood). Shikole and I have had a wide range of conversations about our equally disappointing Dodge Neons, so I thought a post about some tips for post grad car care might be in order.

-Keep up on maintenance. In college, I could survive without checking my oil because I would travel home for breaks and have my Dad check it for me. Now that I am home less frequently (as just because it’s a good thing to know), I check my oil myself and am sure to schedule inexpensive maintenance appointments like oil changes and tire rotations.

-Find a reliable mechanic/ garage. Monro Brake and Muffler have been my “go to” garage for all of my car fixing needs. Try to establish a favorite garage in your neighborhood, so that when something goes wrong, you are dealing with mechanics that you can trust and won’t take advantage of a young client.

-Come up with a worst case scenario plan. In college, I could walk to the garage if my car needed repairs. I also could walk to campus or take the bus to get groceries.  Now, in Rochester, I’ve come up with a bus route that I need to take in case of car trouble. Are there busses in your area, subway systems, or taxis? Make sure you have a backup plan! Your car might decide to stop, but your office will continue to run on the same schedule.

-Do your research. If you need to take the car into the garage, get all of the facts before you allow a mechanic to charge you hundreds for a repair. Consult with your car savvy friends/ family members to figure out a plan of attack.

What are your tips for post grads dealing with car trouble?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

TRPG Logo

Enter your email address to follow TRPG and receive notifications of new posts by email.

